What's new?

Out-and-about, this time to St Andrew’s Church in Stoke Newington where a HOLT grant is helping to address water damage to a 19th century mural. We met with the paint conservator Mark Perry on a chilly November morning to see how it’s progressing.

Something a little different today: a visit to Newman’s Displays to see work in progress on the BFI’s 1957 National Film Theatre sign. Designed by Norman Engleback for the west side of Waterloo Bridge this is a brilliant piece of 1950s London. Its light panels, housing and typography are all being restored – and by the same team who manufactured it in the 1950s! We had a great time looking around film props and West End billboards from decades of London’s nightlife.

A fascinating visit to the Altazimuth Pavilion in Greenwich to see the new telescope and the restored interior. Many thanks to Brendan and the rest of the Royal Greenwich Observatory team for their talk – and a chance to see amazing lunar images, captured that day!

A visit to one of our latest projects, the Leaning Woman statue, commissioned by the LCC in 1958, by the 20th century Czech artist Dr Karel Vogel and currently shrouded in undergrowth. We were delighted to meet the Chairman of the Hammersmith & Fulham Historic Buildings Group, the Chairman of the St Peter’s Residents Association, London Stone Conservation and even a local resident who remembered the Great West road being built in the 1950s. Watch this space for more information!

A wonderful (if slightly wet) visit to Pimp Hall Dovecote in Chingford to see the magnificent restoration work and major repair to the structure at both levels, new shutters, stairs, etc. It’s a fabulous Waltham Forest gem in a picturesque nature reserve, soon to be fully open to the public. HOLT supported the restoration of the glover.

A fantastic celebration at St Marys, Bow, to mark its exquisitely restored clock tower: with new timber & copper casing, repointed brick and a gilded dial. Over a hundred people came together for a clock tower cake, East End songs, speeches from the Rector and John Biggs, Mayor of Tower Hamlets. There was even a Pearly Pup!

This project was generously supported by Delancey who joined us to visit the project as it happened.

A great day in the sunshine today as we saw the return of the freshly gilded weathervane to the top of the Altazimuth Pavilion. The weathervane dates from 1901 and is based on the depiction of Halleys Comet in the Bayeux tapestry (Sir Edmund Halley, Astronomer Royal, predicted the return of the comet in 1758). HOLT also supported restoration of the sunburst lanterns around the Pavilion.

The Pavilion has now reopened as a working observatory for the first time in 60 years!

Our Annual Conference at the Society of Antiquaries on 15 June had a great turnout from all the boroughs. We were thrilled to have our Patron HRH The Duke of Gloucester headlining the day. Talks ranged from the Roman Mithraeum to London’s docks, public buildings converted for London’s many faiths, international styles of architecture and the experiences of London’s immigrants over centuries, interwoven with the fabric of the city. Thanks to our sponsors Brookfield for their support and everyone who joined us on the day.

For more information on our speakers or the day’s talks please contact Ian Chaddock on ian.chaddock@heritageoflondon.org

A quick drop in visit to see progress at Barnet’s Physic Well this project launched last May with a visit from our Patron HRH The Duke of Gloucester. The rotten timbers have been replaced, leaking roof restored and new leaded windows are now waiting for installation. The project continues over the summer, and will include the cleaning of the vault leading down to the ancient spring, as well as new interpretation.

If you are local to Barnet and would like to join the Physic Well supporters group, please contact oliver.taylor@heritageoflondon.org

We visited Gunnersbury Park for a fabulous tea and to see the terrace arch and plaques restored with a HOLT grant – these commemorate the opening of the park to the public in 1926. The Orangery and museum looked fantastic as well. Definitely worth a summer visit!