What's new?

We visited Gunnersbury Park for a fabulous tea and to see the terrace arch and plaques restored with a HOLT grant – these commemorate the opening of the park to the public in 1926. The Orangery and museum looked fantastic as well. Definitely worth a summer visit!

An exhilarating scaffold visit to St Marys Church, Bow, to see the progress of the work on the tower, including the beautiful new timber casing for the clock. This project has been generously supported by Delancey.

We were delighted to visit the Wood Green cattle trough and fountain yesterday – a HOLT restoration project with Haringey Council and Historic England. Here is London Stone Conservation explaining the fitting of the new boar’s head.

Our first schools visit was a great success! We had a wonderful afternoon with Year 5 of Pilgrims Way Primary School in Peckham, talking about WWII bombing in London and our stained glass restoration projects. Helped by the kaleidoscope glories of our video Capturing Londons Light and some jigsaw puzzles!

This week we enjoyed the magnificent Topping Out ceremony at Goldsmiths Centre for Contemporary Art in New Cross. A HOLT grant has helped to restore the Victorian cast iron water tanks and repurpose them to become part of stunning new galleries, opening in September 2018.

We are thrilled to launch our wonderful 360 video ‘Capturing London’s Light’ made with the BBC’s R&D department. Visit our YouTube channel to look around three of our stained glass projects….. Caroline Gardens Chapel, Peckham, St John the Baptist Church in Holland Road, and the Royal Hospital for Neuro-disabilities, Putney.

For more information on this film and our projects please contact us on 020 7099 0559 or info@heritageoflondon.org

Sir George Iacobescu and the Canary Wharf Group generously hosts a lunch for the Heritage of London Trust every year. This year we were delighted to invite Mark Carney, Governor of the Bank of England, to join us. With Nicola Stacey, Director, and Jamie Cayzer-Colvin, Chairman.

We climbed the facade of the Danish Church (built as St Katharine’s Church in 1828 & transferred to the Danes after WWII) to see progress on its blue & gold clock – now being restored with a HOLT grant. The clock’s face will shortly be reenamelled and gilded and historic clock-makers Thwaites & Reed are working on its mechanism. The crumbling pinnacles and turrets are being restored at the same time.

There was a wonderful turnout for this morning’s unveiling of Cranford’s restored village lock up. The imam of Cranford’s mosque, the rector of Cranford parish, three Hounslow ward councillors, children from the local primary school, the Metropolitan Police, Feltham History Group, HOLT trustees and The Radcliffe Trust who supported our grant – all festooned with confetti! The project has been a great partnership with Hounslow Council who we have worked with over the last year, alongside conservators Taylor Pearce.

Cranford’s lock up was built in 1838 to hold local rogues caught by the parish constable. Once the Metropolitan Police built stations with holding cells, these small buildings – once found across the country – went out of use. Cranford’s survived when it was recognised as of special interest in 1939. It had been on the Heritage at Risk register and was in very poor condition.

Visit it in High Street, Cranford, TW5 9RG.

Click here to read a piece on Londonist.com

We had an excellent visit to Gunnersbury Park to see work on the Large Mansion and the south-east arch. The landscaping is looking wonderful – the park is set to be a gem in west London.